Anyone know if infertility is covered under family medical leave act?

I just got through with my first ivf cycle and it was negative. We have 10 frozen embryos and are looking to do a FET but where I go to see my RE is 2 hours away from where I live and work and as you know you have to go down on certain days and don’t always know ahead of time. So, every time I go down it counts against me in occurences, and you can only have so many occurences without getting terminated.

Unbeleivable the stress you go through during the whole process, the let down of not being pregnant and then ahve to worry about this.

I was wondering if anyone knew if infertility was covered under fmla so i could do intermittent leave which would work out great.

Thanks for all your help and support throughout this journey.

I’m no expert, just have done some reading on the topic…It seems to vary a bit…It might depend on your employer for this…Infertility itself is considered a medical condition, but taking time off for IVF, since its not life threatening, may be up to your employer…I would talk to your HR office confidentially or check your employee handbook/benefits guide…That should have your policy listed…

Sorry I can’t be more help!

[QUOTE=boxerlvr82]I just got through with my first ivf cycle and it was negative. We have 10 frozen embryos and are looking to do a FET but where I go to see my RE is 2 hours away from where I live and work and as you know you have to go down on certain days and don’t always know ahead of time. So, every time I go down it counts against me in occurences, and you can only have so many occurences without getting terminated.

Unbeleivable the stress you go through during the whole process, the let down of not being pregnant and then ahve to worry about this.

I was wondering if anyone knew if infertility was covered under fmla so i could do intermittent leave which would work out great.

Thanks for all your help and support throughout this journey.[/QUOTE]