Appointment with RE

My first appt. with my RE is tomorrow. Is there certain questions that I should ask? What should I expect?

i’m not an expert. But it looks like you have blocked tubes… so your conversation should prolly start somewhere around IVF and the different types of IVF they do… prices, how long the process takes for each option, medications… things like that. You should also ask about any tests they may want to do. Once you start talking to your doctor, you’ll come up with questions :slight_smile: good luck!

Hi Jen

Thanks for the feed back. This is like an emotional roller coaster. I know they won’t do anything the first visit but I still have butterflies. I guess having being told no for so long now there is am ounce of hope I’m just nervous. At least now I have an idea of the lines of questions. Thanks for the advice.

Hello Ladies,

My appt. with my new RE in DC went well. He answered all of my questions and I’m pleased with the outcome. My main concern now is all of teh additional testing he wants to do. I honestly don’t want to repeat my HSG. It’s been nine years and I’m sure nothing has chancged. Secondly, I don’t think the sprem analysis is necessary for my husband his fishy are swimming fine. I’m wondering if this is just an add on to get extra money out of teh self paying customers. I have never had a IVF doctor tell me he wants to repeat testing already done.

Secondly, he says the more eggs you transfer the more of a chance that you will miscarry. This is the first I have heard. He only wants to transfer one back. I was thinking two just to make sure it takes. RE says I have a 40% chance of having twins. My response, "Thats not necessarily a bad thing.

What do you think ladies?

[FONT=“Century Gothic”][SIZE=“3”][COLOR=“Purple”]Hello. Boy oh boy do I disagree with your RE on some things. I do agree on repeating the tests. Its necessary to know if there are other factors that may contribute to a BFN.