Breastfeeding and FET

hello everyone. Im new to this so please bare with me. I have a 4 month old son I an currently breastfeeding. My son is not interested in taking a bottle and Im not interested in stopping breastfeeding. Moving on, We are planning to do a FET w/ meds in Aug. I start regular birth control on July 18th and then Lupron on July 20th. There are about 6 other meds I will be taking throughout that cycle (vivelle dot, Medrol, doxycycline, prometrium, pio and estrace) I was wondering if anyone has done FETs w/ medication and had successful outcomes. If so, what were the meds? Did you pump and dump or what?

ANY info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I did not do a FET while breastfeeding, but I did do cycles while still breastfeeding. My daughter was an older nursling at that time (older than two years old). I looked up my meds on Dr. Hales website to see about safety. (here is a similar link–http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/cgi-bin/sis/htmlgen?LACT). I was assured that it was safe.

I would be very concerned that your milk supply may decrease significantly when you’re on BCP. I think you’d want to talk to a lactation consultant about that and have a plan in place if your supply drops, especially if your baby isn’t taking bottles. If you pump and dump, what would he eat? I have a friend who took the mini pill (progestin only and recommended for BF moms) and her supply still tanked. A lactation consultant could help you make an informed choice.

I would also wonder what effect higher prolactin levels from nursing would have on your transfer.

Good luck. It’s a lot to consider.

I did a FET when my girls were about 8 months old and I quit BFing at 5 months. When I met with the RE he said that it was important I stop so that my hormone levels could go back to normal before doing the FET.