Did you have a boy or a girl with an IUI?

I’m just wondering the odds with an iui so if you would like to share what gender you got with each iui please do so :slight_smile: thanks

one of each:cheer:

I’m guessing they’re still 50/50

I was watching a show on tv that said IUIs tend to favor boys. I have no knowledge to back that up with, and I really don’t know why it wouldn’t be 50/50.

I had a boy.

Hoping for a girl next time:pray:

I’ve never been pregnant from an IUI, but two of my friends have - 1) boy and 2) boy/girl twins. :slight_smile:

I also heard that IUI’s favor boys because after the sperm is washed there are more boys since they are stronger and last longer! Not sure how accurate that is though

IUI favors boy due to the spinning

We got triplets, but never got to find out the gender of the 2 that we lost early on’s gender. But 1 of the 3 was a boy.

We had a boy!:cheer:

The crappy RE I saw back in Sept told me that IUI’s favor boys. But he didn’t give me any reasoning. I thought he just said that to make me upset. b/c he had asked if I preferred a boy or girl. I told him that I just wanted a healthy baby, but he said “If you had to choose, which would it be?” I said probably a girl, and that is when he told me about the IUI’s favoring boys.

SilvereLyning- Man that RE really did sound bad! Sorry bout that.

When “washing” sperm (as most patients opt to do-but not all) they are spun. Literally. Imagine a washing machine in the spin cycle. Centrifugal force naturally pushes the heavier/fatter/bigger “girl” swimmers to the outside.
Hence, your washed sample may contain a higher amount of boy swimmers.

With my first IUI I had a boy. With this pregnancy I don’t know yet.