Differences in meds?

who can explain the difference betweenthese meds?femara, repronex, follistim, gonaf??

I would love to know the answer to that myself. I have heard that Follistim & Gonal-F seems the drugs of choice for most doctors. They are “supposed” to be more cost effective. But they all have simular side effects and the way the work. At least this is what I have been told. So I’m seeking clarity as well.

I’m not a doctor and this is just my understanding of this stuff and could be totally wrong.

Femara is an estrogen blocker, so it tricks the body into thinking it’s at a different point in the cycle than it is and so it grows follicles. Repronex contains both FSH (follicle stimulating hormone) and LH (luteinizing hormone), the FSH works directly on the follicles to make them grow and the LH makes the follicles mature. Follistim and Gonal-F are just FSH, again working directly on the follicles to make them grow.

EDIT: I just looked up Femara and I’m a bit off there – but the basic idea seems fairly close. :slight_smile:

I just found this run down on the medications. I hope it is helpful.

[B]Human Menopausal Gonadotropin (hMG)[/B], such as Menopur®, is often used to stimulate ovulation in women who don’t ovulate due to problems with their pituitary gland, as well as ovary stimulation for IUI or IVF treatment.
[B]Follicle Stimulating Hormone (FSH)[/B] - such as Follistim®, Bravelle®, and Gonal-F® – works much like hMG. It causes the ovaries to begin the process of ovulation, or enhances this process for ovulation induction.
[B]Human Chorionic Gonadotropin (hCG)[/B], with brand names such as Pregnyl®, Novarel®, and Ovidrel®, are usually used with other fertility drugs to trigger ovulation.