How many embryos to transfer?

Hi Ladies,
I’m new to this particular forum page. I’ve been through 4 IUI cycles and will begin the first IVF cycle in mid-Dec. We have a choice of transferring 1 or 2 embryos and I’m wondering if anyone has advice.

We were told that there is a 30% success rate with 1 and 40% with 2. I know that a twin preg. is risky, but I’m leaning toward transferring 2 incase 1 doesn’t take.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. It’s so hard to know exactly what to do.

Thanks!

i always say transfer as many that you can handle … ivf1 we transfered 2 cause i was scared of trips , we got a singleton this time we transfered 3 and got twins …best of luck!!

we were given a 50 % chance transferring 1 and 80 % with 2. re said it was a very fine line between getting pregnant and multiples. we transfered 2 8cell embryos on day 3 and got a singleton. i say go for 2 if twins seems doable. even w/ great embys sometimes 1 just doesnt take good luck !

My DD and her husband were advised to transfer one “excellent” 5 day blast during their first IVF cycle. Unfortunately, they got a BFN. They are currently in the midst of IVF #2. If all goes well, they will transfer two this time no matter what they are advised. My DD is 25 and her doctor won’t transfer more than two due to her age and the fact that they’re doing IVF for MFI.

Thanks for the advice everyone! It’s so difficult to weigh up the pros and cons of a SET vs. DET.

You RE may be able to give you more advice once there are embryos to view. With my first IVF we were advised to transfer one, maybe 2 at the most. However, because of the number and quality of the embryos, the RE actually recommended we transfer 3 on the day of ET.

If you have good quality embryos, your chances are up to 50% per embryo. That’s was we had, and we transferred one. It took. Good luck with your IVF.