I am on injectables

Ok so as u know i am on injectables (follistim) so i am used to being on femara. so starting cd5 i would start to OPK just to ensure that i didnt get a surge on my own before the trigger day. well this morning i freaked out because it turned positive, its only cd8 and my body shouldnt be doing this yet. so just to make sure, i took another one about 2 hrs later, and it was negative. So i freaked out and called the drs office as soon as they opened. it was a different nurse that called me back then my usual nurse, she basically yelled at me for taking the OPKs and said that I shouldnt be doing them. She said that on injectables the OPK can come back false positive…is this right? i guess no matter how long i have been doing this, i am still learning about it all the time!

second question is i read someone suffered OHSS and had 3 follicles,…i thought u needed alot to suffer from OHSS? just curious, cause i had 4 and i am feel a lot of cramping but my e2 is still normal as of my last apt

I have been using follistim and my clinic has never instructed me to use OPK’s. I don’t know about false positives, but their protocol usually is: CD3 ultrasound, follistim for 5 days then blood work and ultrasound on CD 10 to check follicle growth. The blood draw includes LH levels, which tell the doctor if you are surging or not. Depending on the E2 and LH levels, I usually go back for ultrasounds and bloodwork 1-3 more times in the next several days then trigger. So if your clinic is doing blood work during the cycle they will know if your LH is surging.