New to surrogacy - need advice

Hi. I’m new to the idea of surrogacy, and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction. I went through many rounds of IVF before finally getting pregnant 2 years ago with donor eggs. The pregnancy was pretty miserable, and after being put on bed rest and having a cerclage put in, I developed a bad infection and had an emergency c-section at 24-weeks.

After that experience, I’m not very anxious to try pregnancy again, but we really want a sibling for our daughter. We have 2 frozen embryos and were considering a gestational surrogate (I hope I have the terminology right). Questions:

1. Where is the best place to look for a surrogate? Should I go through an agency?

2. Has anyone used a surrogate in India? How did it go? And how do you go about finding a safe, reputable company?

Thanks for any info!

Our son was born in November through gestational surrogacy in India. We wrier incredibly satisfied with the entire process. Let me know if you’d like me to answer specific questions.

Hi NotNOTpregnant,

I just sent you a PM :slight_smile:

Best regards,
Lina

Yes, I have a million questions so thank you for responding! I’ll start with this – where do I start. :slight_smile:

Did you go through an agency? How did you find the surrogate? Did you use frozen embryos? Were there any problems along the way?

Also, congratulations!

Here is the message I sent to another woman on this forum, answering some of her specific questions.

Was it done through an agency in the US?
No. We worked with the clinic in Mumbai directly. It’s called Surrogacy India in Mumbai. I did my own research, reading blogs and speaking to other parents. I also had a friend who used Surrogacy India in Mumbai and she had twins (she got lucky on her first shot!)

What legal paperwork was involved?
You need to apply for a visa.
We signed a contract with our surrogate, drafted by our clinic’s lawyer.
Immigration paperwork to receive your baby’s passport.