Opinions on age?

Hi ladies! What a great board this is with such a wonderful group of gals! This is my first time posting anything, but have been lurking and following your stories! :nerd:

so I am having an internal struggle here - and was hoping for some opinions/advice…

I have just turned 47 and have a beautiful 4 year old DD from an IUI back in 2008. My husband is a “young” (IMHO) 56 and the love of my life. He has two DD’s from a previous marriage (ages 24 and 20).

I would LOVE to have a sibling for my DD (and she always asks for a baby brother or sister). After three years of begging my DH for another little one - he has finally agreed and right now we are in the middle of a DE cycle - and I have already started BCP’s!

The issue is I am finally starting to understand DH’s concern of being an “elderly” dad. To me, my dh is the best daddy in the world! (and did I mention he is adorable?) He is so involved with DD, goes to her preschool to read books, takes her skiing, sailing, etc. And is very fit. But the truth of the matter is that he will be 57 when (if) this little one is born and 75 at high school graduation! Is that asking too much? I know he is doing this for me and our DD.

Also, I am no spring chicken myself (although I still feel like I’m in my early 30’s …lol) I run every day, etc. but I’ll still be 64 at our second one’s graduation. Is there anyone out there in a similar situation? If so, do you ever worry about this? And why am I so concerned now vs 4 years ago when I got pregnant at 42? does it make that much of a difference? I really don’t know anymore. There is an article in Time magazine this week called “Too Old Dads” and honestly, it depressed the hell out of me.