Ovarian Stimulation Monitoring: Yes or No?

Hello! I’m totally new to the IVF world, and there is SO much to learn. I’m trying to get as educated as I can before my first consultation appointment. One thing I noticed about the place we will likely go is that there are two costs for IVF—one is with Ovarian Stimulation Monitoring and one is without.

How do you decide if you should do it? What are the pros/cons?

Any information you can share to help me better understand this aspect of IVF would be so appreciated!

I cannot imagine how you would do a cycle without monitoring your ovaries? The doctor needs to check the sizes of your follicles regularly to see how they are progressing and to determine when to retrieve the eggs. Am I missing something? How could they do ivf without monitoring?

You definitely need & want to know how you are responding 5o the medication. You also want to know how many follicles you are producing. You want yo ovoid OHSS, which is over stimulation. This can make you very sick. Other than that most doctors start you off with pills known as clomid & do ultrasounds to verify your progress. If that fails they’ll introduce you to injectable drugs or IVF if needed. Best of luck & always ask questions! Again my advice is to get treatment with monitoring.

Thanks, this makes sense. Based on what you both have said, I don’t know under what circumstances people choose not to do it. Perhaps it is simply for out of towners who will have the monitoring done elsewhere, so they offer two prices…?

Other question, if you don’t mind, but is the same true for PGD testing? Something that is wise to do?

I have never heard of IVF without monitoring. I can’t imagine why it would be one price with and one price without. I would think that monitoring is a necessary part of any ART. I would be interested to hear what they say about that after your meeting. Where are you going for the consult?