What to do if 2nd cycle of clomid and 2nd IUI fail

I’m very new to the infertility community. I was diagnosed with PCOS in July of 2011. Then began fertility treatments. Did my first round of 50mg Clomid along with a HCG shot and then an IUI. I am now on my 2nd round of Clomid this time 100 mg. Had one mature follicle 20mm trigger shot on the 7th and IUI on the 8th of this month ( october ) I’m wanting some advise on what to do if this does not work. I’m thinking about Gonal-f coupled with Femara but I want to the know the cost and sucess rate. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks

Hi, kamille. Unfortunately, I don’t have any advice for you, but I wish you all the best.

I do have a question for you though, if it’s not too personal. Why did you move straight to Clomid + IUI? My RE has me on Clomid + Timed Intercourse, but I’d really prefer to go ahead and do the IUI. I’m a PCOSer too so I was just curious if there were any other factors on your end that made you and your doctor move straight to IUI.

I hope someone can offer up some advice and insight on your initial post. If not, try posting in the IUI or Clomid boards…they are typically more active.

:babydust:

As far as your next treatment, each of the injectibles treats slightly different fertility issues, so you’ll have to ask your doctor which one is likely to be the most successful for you. Don’t be afraid to ask him/her plenty of questions about why that one is good or why he/she isn’t going with another one, or even get a second opinion if you have reason to disagree with the medication your doctor picks. However, they’re not interchangeable, so you don’t want to go with one because it’s cheaper or has fewer side effects or something when it’s not going to be effective anyway.